Workshop Schedule

Event Dates: May 13-15, 2022

At the 2022 Berkeley Dulcimer Gathering, you will have a choice of 3 workshops on Saturday and up to 3 workshops on Sunday. Our teachers (for both mountain and hammer dulcimer) will present subjects including tunes, songs, history, technique, and more! For our Saturday finale, everyone is invited to our popular Playing Circle!

Each day will be planned for maximum time in community with our international group of dulcimer aficionados.

Absolute Beginner

Beginner

Intermediate

Advanced

All Levels

Saturday

14

May

Saturday Classes

($80 /$100 after 4/22) Three 75min classes on hammer & mountain dulcimer (including baritone), plus a playing circle beginning at 3pm!  

8:30am PDT

Pre-event Zoom review

MDT
9:30-10:00am
CDT
10:30-11:00am
EDT
11:30am-12:00pm
9:00am PDT
Community Orientation

Meet & Greet Break-Out Rooms

MDT
10:00am
CDT
11:00am
EDT
12:00pm
3:00pm – 4:30pm PDT
Playing Circle 

All are welcome! Come join us! 

MDT
4:00 - 5:30pm
CDT
5:00 - 6:30pm
EDT
6:00 - 7:30pm
}

Sat. 9:30-10:45 am PDT

Class Period 1

MDT
10:30 - 11:45am
CDT
11:30am - 12:45pm
EDT
12:30 - 1:45pm

Mountain Dulcimer Classes:

Let's Start at the Very Beginning

DJ Hamouris - MD

(Abs. Beginners) This class will get you started with your dulcimer – learning your fretboard, how to place your fingers, a strum or two, and a couple of very beginning tunes. This class includes an extra session to help you tune your instrument. Please include Thursday, 5/13, at 3:30 PDT in your schedule. DAd tuning

Tune your CHROMATIC dulcimer 1-3-5!

Kay Bolin MD (Chromatic) *All Levels

(Any Level) Here’s something fun to try. Tune your chromatic 1-3-5 and see what happens. If you like the more exotic chords and want to play them more easily, or if you just like chords and find that there is a bit of hand strain involved especially with your chromatic dulcimer, this is something to try. My chromatic has a very long VSL, (28 inches!) and I love chords, and I’ve experienced left-hand strain even on my short VSL dulcimers. So when I tried this, I was hooked. Let me share with you the simple shapes, none of them more of a stretch than from your diatonic fret 1 to fret 3. I have easy charts to help you. This workshop will work for standard, baritone and ginger chromatic dulcimers. I will let you know what to tune to ahead of time, depending upon your usual tuning.

Slow and Beautiful – Intro to Cross-Picking

Dave Haas - MD

(Beginner-Intermediate) Find the peaceful side of the dulcimer. Learn how to play slow songs in a smooth and melodic style by plucking the strings one at a time. Learn left and right hand techniques to facilitate smooth playing. Tunes include: “Aura Lee”, “The South Wind”, and other favorites. DAd

Appalachian Tunes For Appalachian Dulcimers Int.

Rob Brereton - MD

Your “Hit Parade” of 1870. These are the tunes some of our Appalachian ancestors played and sang. Learn these beautiful, sometimes haunting, sometimes exciting melodies. The arrangements are for solo/drone and chord/melody style. Chords are included for accompanying or singing along. These are our musical roots. Together, let’s honor our musical heritage!

Ode to Joy on 4-Equidistant Strings

Thomasina Levy - MD

(Advanced) You will “joyfully” explore the possibilities of a playing 4-Equidistant strung mountain dulcimer. In addition to learning Ode to Joy, you will also explore the beautiful chords that emerge by just playing L-shaped chords in this tuning. You may never go back to playing in just DAd again! Come tuned to DAdd.

Hammer Dulcimer Classes:

String-Side Up for Hammered Dulcimer

Steve Eulberg - HD

(Absolute Beginning) “Let’s start at the very beginning, a very good place to start,” says Fraulein Maria in the South of Music. Students will be equipped with hammered dulcimer geography and hands-on hammering to gain deeper understanding of the instrument, how it is laid out and played, so that they can participate in the other workshops in the Gathering.

President Garfield's Hornpipe

Patti Amelotte - HD

A wonderful tune to use to work on arpeggios (chords) and how to solve tricky passages to smooth out your playing and help your ‘handing.’ Sheet music and YouTube video links of the tunes played slowly and up to speed will be sent.

}

Sat. 11:00-12:15 am PDT

Class Period 2

MDT
12:00 - 1:15pm
CDT
1:00 - 2:15pm
EDT
2:00 - 3:15pm

Mountain Dulcimer Classes:

No Bad Habits

Rob Brereton - MD

Now’s the time to start developing good habits. In this class, we’ll discuss common mistakes newer players (and even some experienced players) make as well as tips on how to practice. In particular, skills will include strumming, fingering, navigating the fretboard, causes of choppy playing, chord repertoire, and so much more. Learn some new songs along the way too!

Shape Up Your Chords!

Kay Bolin - MD

(Advanced Beginner-Intermediate) Three basic chord shapes to learn – and with them – so many chords to play. Learn how to use the shapes all the way up your fretboard. Knowing your chords allows you to accompany yourself playing chord melody style, accompany singing or accompany another person playing the melody. It is also invaluable for fingerpicking. You will come away with a powerful new tool in your dulcimer bag! Tune DAd.

The Music of Turlough O'Carolan

Dave Haas - MD

(Intermediate-Advanced) Expand your repertoire with the music of this amazing 17th century Irish Harper. So many of his tunes are played today. Learn techniques and fingerings to ensure smooth play. Tunes include “Blind Mary”, Bridget Cruise”, and other favorites. DAd

Let’s Cavort with the Capo

Thomasina Levy - MD

(Intermediate) NO MORE RETUNING! Now you can play minor songs without retuning AND learn how to play songs in different keys such as E minor, G & A major, and A mixolydian. You will leave with Scarborough Faire, Winter Now Has Gone Away, and a round.

Hammer Dulcimer Classes:

Two lovely/easy tunes: Ria's Tune & Thème Vannitaise

Patti Amelotte - HD

Here are the details about the class. Here are the details about the class. Here are the details about the class. Here are the details about the class.

Simple Gifts: Arranging music on the Hammered Dulcimer

Steve Eulberg - HD

(Advanced) By exploring a fully-fleshed out arrangement of this Shaker tune, we’ll gain and use tools for arranging the music we want to play on the hammered dulcimer. For best results, students will bring a tune that they would like to arrange.

12:15pm – 1:30pm PDT

Lunch Social (Home Room open for socializing)

MDT
1:15 - 2:30pm
CDT
2:15 - 3:30pm
EDT
3:15 - 4:30pm
}

Sat. 1:30-2:45 pm PDT

Class Period 3

MDT
2:30 - 3:45pm
CDT
3:30 - 4:45pm
EDT
4:30 - 5:45pm

Mountain Dulcimer Classes:

Sing! Sing! Sing! with the Mt. Dulcimer

Thomasina Levy - MD *All Levels

(All Levels) If you can walk and chew gum at the same time, then you can play the mt. dulcimer and sing with it too! In this workshop, we will SING! and talk about chords, how to find the right key, and learn some new songs. Come tuned to DAd and bring a capo.

Playing Smoothly – Keys to Success!

Dave Haas - MD

(Beginner-Intermediate) Learn how to improve your strum to make your tunes more musical. Improve your left-hand fingering to make your play more smooth and fluid. Tunes include: “Sandy Boys”, “Spotted Pony”, and other favorites. DAd

Baritone Blues Basics

DJ Hamouris - MD

(Intermediate +) The Baritone was made for the blues. The growl, the resonance, the low tones we love! We’ll work through the most intuitive ways to play blues progressions in 3 keys using both barre and 7th chords. Discover the form of 12-bar blues and the easiest ever pentatonic scale patterns. AEA tuning, 1+ fret required

Israeli Folk Songs

Kay Bolin - MD

(Advanced) This is a repertoire workshop with songs that can be played solo, or with parts for your ensemble or duet/trio partners. You will receive mp3s with individual parts and the whole arrangement to make your learning easier. Even if you don’t have anyone to play with you can experience the full arrangement. Finger or flat pick. Tune DAd.

Hammer Dulcimer Classes:

Playing Blues on the Hammered Dulcimer

Steve Eulberg - HD

(Adv Beg-intermediate) Someone once said, “You can’t play blues on the hammered dulcimer, it is too pretty.” Well, pretty boys have the blues, too and if you have’em, this workshop can help you play’em. 12 bar blues (a typical song form), and dominant 7th chords, will guide us as we discover how accessible the hammered dulcimer actually IS for playing blues.

Getting tunes (and yourself!) ready for performance

Patti Amelotte - HD

Whether you are playing publicly or just for friends and family using these techniques will help you prepare tunes, work on calming your mind and your nervousness. A melody only version and an arrangement of “Henry MacDermott Roe (First Air) by Turlough O’Carolan” will be sent ahead of time as well as YouTube video links of the tune played slowly and up to speed.

}

Sat. 3:00-4:30 PDT

Playing Circle

MDT
4:00 - 5:30pm
CDT
5:00 - 6:30pm
EDT
6:00 - 7:30pm

Playing Circle!

Laura Devine Burnett *All Levels

(All Levels!) The playing circle is a time for you to play something for others, that you enjoy on your dulcimer, or just listen. In realtime, it is a jam circle as well, for anyone to join in on a song, try their hand at solos, etc. However, on zoom it will be a sharing time. Some people like to play something they just learned in a class , others a song they wrote, or an instrumental. I invite you all to attend, as you will hear such a variety from many players, novice to advanced, and everything in between! I will be leading it by choosing who’s up next- let us limit it to 1 song sharing, so as many as possible can play something. Please join us!

In sweet harmony, Laura Devine Burnett

Friday Concert

May 13th

Tickets go on sale 3/15/22

Livestream Begins @ 6:30pm PDT

MDT:
7:30pm
CDT:
8:30pm
EDT:
9:30pm

Saturday Concert

May 14th

Tickets go on sale 3/15/22

Livestream Begins @ 6:00pm PDT

MDT:
7pm
CDT:
8pm
EDT:
9pm

Sunday

15

May

Extended 2-hour Sunday Workshops

Sunday Workshops

(A la carte $30/$35 after 4/22) Your choice of up to three 2hr workshops on hammer & mountain dulcimer (including chromatic and baritone)! 

Also!!! Don’t miss out:

12:45-2pm Arranger’s Round Table
Moderated by Ashley Ernst, Publisher of Dulcimer Players News, featuring: Patti Amelotte, Tull Glazener, Judy & Kirk House, and Steve Eulberg.  Open to all registrants of Saturday and/or Sunday workshops and concert goers!

}

Sun. 8:30-10:30 am PDT

Workshop 1

MDT
9:30-11:30am
CDT
10:30am-12:30pm
EDT
11:30am-1:30pm

Mountain Dulcimer Classes:

Chord Boot Camp

Thomasina Levy - MD

Woody Guthrie said: “Anyone who uses more than two chords is just showing off.” You are going to “show off” by learning 3 basic chords!!! You will learn to recognize the basic shape patterns on the fretboard and practice transitioning from one chord to another in order to smooth out your playing. Come tuned to DAd.

Master Your Fretboard

Dave Haas - MD

(Intermediate-Advanced) Learn how to add variation to your arrangements by moving the melody to the bass and octave regions of the dulcimer. This keeps your music interesting by not playing the same exact thing over and over and over. Learn how to add interesting introductions and endings. DAd.

Hammer Dulcimer Classes:

Hand-Separation/Independence Gymnasium

Steve Eulberg - HD

(Adv Beg – Int) Using tunes that require hand separation skills in order to play, We’ll explore several exercises that can help us gain comfort, accuracy and agility in developing and honing our hands playing different things at the same time. These exercises can be incorporated into your daily practice, preparing us for Hand Independence, on the way to Hand Interdependence.

}

Sun. 10:45am-12:45pm PDT

Workshop 2

MDT
11:45am-1:45pm
CDT
12:45-2:45pm
EDT
1:45-3:45pm

Mountain Dulcimer Classes:

“Once More with Feeling”

Dusty Thorburn - MD

(Advanced Beginner and up / DAd Tuning) Learning the notes on the page is only the first step in developing a compelling rendition of a tune. Infusing our music with feeling takes a more subtle approach. This extended workshop highlights a number of beautiful, slower tunes and a series of techniques that we can mix and match to develop heartfelt music. We will explore phrasing, dynamics, left-hand legato techniques, and more. Along the way, we’ll also learn a handful of really pretty songs!

Slow & Beautiful – Deepen Your Cross-Picking Skills

Dave Haas - MD

(Intermediate) You are able to play slow songs by plucking the strings, one at a time, and are ready to deepen your skills. Discover left and right hand techniques that facilitate smooth cross-picking and how to accompany others in a group. Tunes include: “Morning Has Broken”, “Danny Boy”, and other favorites. DAd

Let’s Write a Song!

Thomasina Levy - MD *All Levels

(limit 12) You CAN write a song. (If my four-year-old granddaughter can do it—so can you!) In this workshop, we will brainstorm how to create original lyrics and then you will create your own original melody to accompany the lyrics. This is a fun, practical, and engaging workshop.

}

Sun. 2:00-4:00 pm PDT

Workshop 3

MDT
3pm-5pm
CDT
4pm-6pm
EDT
5pm-7pm

Mountain Dulcimer Classes:

Chromatic

Erin Mae - Chromatic MD

(Intermediate – Advanced) Erin Mae will teach a few of her favorite tunes that utilize all those extra frets. There will be something bluegrassy, something jazzy, and something slow and pretty. All handouts will include standard notation, chromatic-numbered tab (1-12), and diatonic-numbered tab (1-7 with 1/2 frets). A capo is recommended.

Baritone Explorations

Deborah Baritone - MD

(Intermediate +) It’s time to explore our Baritone Dulcimers together! We will cover: fret board basics; linear & box scales; I iv & V chords in D, G & A; locating D & A tunes in AEA tuning; and learn a couple of tunes arranged specifically for the baritone. Answers to your questions will be explored as they arise and you’ll end up with more knowledge, more experience, and more music for this most resonant member of the mountain dulcimer family. AEA tuning

Hammer Dulcimer Classes:

Exploring Exotica

Steve Eulberg - HD

(Int-Adv) The hammered dulcimer is a marvelously flexible instrument and able to play beautiful music from all around the globe. We’ll explore some tunes with exotic twists, so that we can be as flexible as our dulcimer. Students will play the harmonic minor scale (Am Waltz); a Jewish tune, Yigdal; an Arabic/Turkish tune in maqam hijaz: Miserlou; and two tunes with timing twists: Wildrose of the Mountain, and Reluctant Busboy, which features crossing the bridge hammering strategies.

Contact Us

Date

May 13 – 15, 2022

Event Location

World wide, via Zoom!

Your Cart

Cart is empty.

Subtotal
$0.00
APPLY
0